Executive and Supervisory Board

As a membership corporation the IWH is statutably divided into different functional units of organization (Management and Boards) through which it is coordinated, guided, advised and supervised. The Boards of the IWH consist of the Executive and Supervisory Board, the Members' Assembly as well as the Scientific Advisory Board.

Below you can find more details on the Executive Board and the Supervisory Board of the IWH.

Executive Board and Supervisory Board

Executive Board

The Executive Board consists of the President, the Vice President and the Head of Administration. The members of the board are individually authorized to represent the IWH (board within the meaning of § 26 BGB [German Civil Code]).


Professor Reint E. Gropp, PhD is the President of the IWH.

Learn more about him

Professor Dr Oliver Holtemöller is Vice President and Head of the Department of Macroeconomics.

Learn more about him

Dr Tankred Schuhmann is the Head of Administration.

Learn more about him


Supervisory Board

Professor Dr Dr Sabine Freifrau von Schorlemer

Chairwoman of the Supervisory Board, Holder of the Chair of International Law, European Union Law and International Relations at Technische Universität Dresden

Professor Dr Armin Willingmann

Minister of Economy, Science and Digitalisation of the State of Saxony-Anhalt; Deputy Chairman of the Supervisory Board

Dr Stefan Profit

Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy

Professor Dr Christoph Wunder

Faculty of Law, Economics and Business, Chair of Econometrics, Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg

Professor Dr Karl-Heinz Paqué

Faculty of Economics and Management, Chair for International Economics, Otto-von-Guericke-University Magdeburg

Michael Barkholz

Chairman of the staff council

Professor Dr Thomas Brockmeier

Managing Director of the Chamber of Industry and Commerce (IHK) Halle-Dessau

Stephan Freiherr von Stenglin

President of the Deutsche Bundesbank's Regional Office in Bremen, Lower Saxony and Saxony-Anhalt

Helmut Herres

Federal Ministry of Finance

Kristina Kostial, PhD

International Monetary Fund

Marc Melzer

Deutsche Bank AG

Professor Dr Jutta Schnitzer-Ungefug

Secretary-General of the National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina

Mitglied der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft LogoTotal-Equality-LogoWeltoffen Logo